Donaire dethrones Vetyeka by technical decision

31/05/2014 20:10

Nonito Donaire (33-2, 21 KO’s) defeated WBA Super World featherweight champion Simpiwe Vetyeka (26-3, 16 KO’s) by a technical decision on Saturday night at the Cotai Arena, Venetian Resort, Macao, Macao S.A.R., China.

Donaire suffered a cut  on the left eyebrow in the first round, which was ruled by referee Luis Pabon as caused by an accidental head clash. However, replays are inconclusive, it was either caused by a left jab or a potential accidental elbow, either way it wasn’t a head butt. Had it been ruled as caused by a punch, then Vetyeka would of retained the strap.

Vetyeka was frustrating Donaire, boxing well with his long limbs causing Donaire plenty of problems. Though Donaire kept pressing the action and staggered the champion with a right hand in the third round. Vetyeka stayed up due to him holding on to the ropes. In the fourth round, “The Filipino Flash” unloaded a booming left hook that sent Vetyeka to the canvas. But the South African got up and continued to fight back. 

Before the bell rang to start the fifth, Donaire told the referee he could no longer see. By rule, the fight went to the scorecards. The final judges scores were 40-36, 40-36, and 40-36.

With the win, Donaire has won a title in five weight classes -- flyweight, super flyweight (an interim title), bantamweight, super bantamweight and now featherweight.

In another bout, unbeaten Russian Evgeny Gradovich survived a knock down in the sixth round to get up and decision Alexander Miskirtchian of Belgium, and retained his IBF featherweight title. The final judges scores were 118-110, 117-110 and 117-110.

Gradovich improved to 19-0, while Jamaica’s unbeaten Nicholas Walters knocked out Vic Darchinyan in the fifth round to retain his WBA "regular" featherweight title, improving his record to 24-0 with 20 knockouts.

Others results on the card:

Chris Avalos W Yasutaka Ishimoto TKO 8

Rex Tso W Ratchasak Kokietgym UD 10

Ik Yang W Geisler AP TKO 1

Esquiva Falcao W Eun-Chang Lee UD 6

Kuok Kun Ng W Muhammad Imam KO 1