Rigondeaux's KO win over Flores changed no contest

26/06/2017 18:47


Guillermo Rigondeaux’s KO win over Mexico's Moises Flores has been changed to a no contest.

The unbeaten Cuban, who was defending his WBA super bantamweight title for the eighth time, was originally awarded his 18th victory on June 17 on the undercard of the Andre Ward-Sergey Kovalev rematch at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas.

However on Monday, the Nevada Commission voted unanimously to change the result after footage proved the KO punch clearly landed after the bell sounded to end the first round.

The NSAC also agreed with referee Vic Drakulich’s assessment in his post-fight report that Rigondeaux’s late punch was an unintentional foul. That’s why the result was not changed to a DQ victory for Flores, who said he couldn’t continue after Rigondeaux’s punch landed.

The WBA will likely order a rematch.