Stieglitz wins technical decision to retain WBO title

14/07/2013 19:05

Robert Stieglitz (45-3) of Germany retained his WBO super middleweight title when he won a technical decision over Japan's Yuzo Kiyota (23-4-1), after the bout was sent to the cards in round 10 following a unintentional foul which caused a cut to the challenger's left eye, on Saturday night  at Energie Verbund-Arena, Dresden, Sachsen, Germany.

The scores were 99-90, 99-90 and 100-89 in favour of the champion.

A combination from Stieglitz, opened a cut over Kiyota's right eye in the 3rd round.

 Stieglitz, who was the superior boxer, moved forward and stalked Kiyota, while the challenger resorted to dirty tactics. Kiyota was then deducted a point in the 5th for holding his head too low after numerous warnings. Then he was warned by referee Celestino Ruiz for elbowing in the 7th.

An accidental clash of heads in the 8th caused a cut over Kiyota's left eye. Brave Kiyota was now bleeding from both eyes, eventually forcing the bout to the cards in round 10.

Kiyota became the first Japanese boxer to challenge for a world title in the 168 pound or higher weight classes.

Stieglitz was defending his WBO strap for the first time since he reclaimed it from Arthur Abraham in March.